EASY CHICKEN DIVAN CASSEROLE

IMG_4135

This is one of my go-to dinners.  I’ve been making this layered casserole for my family for longer than I can remember.  There are very few recipes that I still use with condensed soup or cornflakes because in recent years I try to avoid using processed ingredients in my cooking whenever possible.  But my husband and my kids love this casserole – often requesting it for a birthday meal.  It’s comfort food that is attached to good memories and many family dinners.  And it is a staple when I deliver a meal to another family because someone in their home is ill or adjusting to the birth of a new baby, since it provides protein, carbohydrates, and veggies in one pan.

I have the recipe memorized.   Which makes it one of my fallback plans on a hectic week when I’m wandering around at the grocery story wondering what to make for dinner when 12 people are going to arrive at my house in two hours for dinner.

I make one casserole for my family.  Two if I’m preparing a community meal.  Two casseroles will easily feed 12-14 people.  I simply add bread and/or salad if I’m expecting more than that.

I hope this dish becomes a favorite as well for the people you love around your table.

EASY CHICKEN DIVAN CASSEROLE

IMG_4136

ingredients

  • 1-12 ounce bag of frozen broccoli florets, thawed
  • 1 rotisserie chicken, meat shredded into large chunks
  • 2 cans of cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 pound cooked pasta noodles OR 3 cups of cooked rice (white or brown depending on preference)
  • 3/4 cup of mayonnaise (I use light mayo.)
  • 1 teaspoon of fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 2 cups grated chedder cheese
  • 2 cups cornflakes
  • 2 tablespoons of melted butter
  • freshly ground salt and pepper

directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Grease a 9 X 13 casserole dish or baking pan with butter or cooking spray.
  • Layer pasta or rice, broccoli, and chicken.  Sprinkle lightly with fresh ground salt & pepper.
  • Combine soup, mayo, lemon juice, and curry powder in a medium sized bowl.  Pour blended mixture on top of carb/chicken/broccoli layer.  Gently smooth until even.
  • Evenly sprinkle grated cheese on top.
  • Melt butter in a medium glass bowl.  (I do this in my microwave for 20 seconds.)  Stir in cornflakes and use long spoon to gently stir cornflakes until coated.  Evenly spread cornflakes on top of casserole.
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes, until bubbly and the cornflakes start to brown slightly on the edges.

Note:  When I make two casseroles for a large group, I make one with pasta

IMG_4139

and one with rice.

IMG_4137

This makes most people happy, except for gluten-free guests.  When I make a community dinner, I always have a gluten free option for family and friends who don’t eat gluten.  If I know a gluten-free guest is coming to chicken divan night, I set aside a bowl of warm rice, chicken, broccoli and cheese for them before I assemble the casseroles.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

