ROSEMARY CHICKEN & LENTIL SOUP

IMG_0195

I found this recipe in a book a received as a gift years ago called, “The Soup Bible”.  The above photo is from the cookbook because the photo of my soup did not look nearly as appetizing at it tasted.  Clearly, I need to work on the art of food photos.

I did make some minor adjustments to this recipe.

  • I used my food processor to chop the onion, garlic, celery, and carrots so they are smaller than what is in the picture.  I use my food processor all the time because it is fast, and so that I can chop vegetables small enough so my kids don’t notice them and complain.
  • I also added garlic to the original recipe just because I love garlic in pretty much every savory dish.  But you can easily omit this if you are not a garlic fan.  On the topic of garlic, I learned a good trick recently that if you  turn on your food processor and drop peeled garlic in one clove at a time, they bounce around and get all chopped up to the perfect size for most recipes in about 10 seconds.  This method works best if your processor bowl is clean and dry before you drop in the first clove.
  • For multiplying the recipe, I made a double batch in two pots so that I could make enough for 16.  When adjusting this recipe for a crowd, I added an extra cup of lentils (because I’m always worried about everyone getting full), and doubled everything else except the onion.  I have found that onion is exponential when you start multiplying it and can overtake a dish.
  • Lastly, I really prefer green lentils to brown. But either will work.

And if the store is sold out of lentils, aduzki beans will work in this recipe as well!

Rosemary Chicken & Lentil Soup, Serves 4

ingredients:

  • 1 cup dried green or brown lentils (cooked or canned beans works too if you’re in a hurry!)
  • 1 rotisserie chicken or cooked chicken, bone and skin removed and meat chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 slices of bacon, chopped into large pieces
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, diced (optional)
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 2 sprigs of fresh rosemary, minced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 14 oz diced plum tomatoes (or diced tomatoes, I used Pomi Chopped Tomatoes, which come in a small box)
  • 7 c vegetable stock or chicken stock, or a combination of both (if using store bought stock, I always prefer the flavor of stock from a box rather than a can)
  • salt and pepper to taste
directions:
  • Place the lentils in a bowl and cover with cold water.  Soak for about two hours.  Rinse and drain them well.
  • In a large heavy bottom pot, heat the oil over medium-high.  Add your diced bacon and cook for about 3 minutes until it starts to brown.
  • Stir in the onion and cook for 5 minutes or until soft.
  • Stir in garlic, celery, carrots, rosemary, bay leaves, and lentils and stir until fully incorporated.
  • Stir in tomatoes and stock.  Bring the pot to a boil, then reduce the heat to maintain a simmer for about one hour with the pot half covered, stirring occasionally.
  • When the lentils are tender and the liquid has reduced a bit, season with salt and pepper to taste.
  • Add the cooked chicken and reheat through.
  • Remove the bay leaves and serve.
  • Best served with warm bread.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

